Carlo J. DeLuca Award

The Carlo J. DeLuca Award recognizes outstanding early-career researchers who have contributed to technological advances in EMG acquisition and signal processing.

Carlo J DeLuca portrait

About Carlo J. DeLuca

Carlo J. DeLuca is widely recognized for introducing engineering principles to the field of Neurophysiology and more recently for combining principles of Motor Control with the fundamentals of Biomechanics. His research has made breakthroughs on the frontiers of neuromuscular control, signal processing, and electromyographic sensor technology. He authored 122 peer-reviewed articles, 21 book chapters, and 26 patents. His writings have been cited over 21,000 times. His body of work includes “Muscles Alive”, often referred to as the “bible of electromyography”.  Prof. DeLuca made lasting contributions to ISEK. He assisted John Basmajian, his mentor, in setting up the initial structure of ISEK. He served twice as past president of ISEK (1988 and 1990) and organized the highly successful ISEK 1979 Congress in Boston. Under his presidency he established the Journal of Electromyography & Kinesiology and served as its Editor-in-Chief.  Professor DeLuca believed strongly in providing opportunities for young investigators and trained more than forty M.S. and Ph.D. students. Many of these individuals are now leading researchers and engineers in the field.


DeLuca Virtual Symposium
“Applying fundamental knowledge into applied sciences”

June 15, 2023

The ISEK Early Career Researcher Committee is pleased to announce the DeLuca Symposium, a virtual event highlighting research from early career scientists on topics of interest to trainees, from undergraduate students and early career researchers.

The DeLuca Symposium is lead by the 2022 Carlo J. DeLuca Award winners, Manuela Besomi, Marco Ghislieri and Bryan Schlink with support from the ERC Committee.

Full Details are available here

2022 Winners

Manuela Besomi

Manuela Besomi

The University of Queensland

Manuela is a physiotherapist from Chile with clinical experience in the management and prevention of running-related injuries, and is passionate about (ultra)trail running. She completed her bachelor’s (Universidad del Desarrollo, UDD) and Clinical Epidemiology master’s degrees (Universidad de La Frontera) in Chile before moving to Australia to complete her PhD in Rehabilitation Sciences at The University of Queensland (UQ). Manuela currently works as a Postdoctoral Research Fellow at UQ in the Pain and Motor Control Lab, and the NHMRC Centre of Clinical Research Excellence in Spinal Pain, Injury & Health. She is also an associated researcher at UDD (Chile). Manuela has significantly advanced the fundamental understanding of electromyography through her coordination of the Consensus in Experimental Design for Electromyography (CEDE) project. She has a particular interest in the neuromuscular and biomechanical mechanisms that underpin pathological conditions and pain, and rehabilitation strategies to optimize a sustainable and healthy running practice.

Marco Ghislieri

Marco Ghislieri

Politecnico di Torino

Marco Ghislieri received his Master’s Degree in Biomedical Engineering from the Politecnico di Torino, Turin, Italy, in 2016. He worked as a Researcher under grant from January 2017 to October 2017 at the Department of Electronics and Telecommunications of the Politecnico di Torino, Turin, Italy. In 2017 he began his Ph.D. in Bioengineering and Medical and Surgical Sciences at the Politecnico di Torino and obtained his Ph.D. degree in July 2021 with the thesis “Muscle Synergy Assessment during Cyclic and Non-Cyclic Movements: Methodological Issues and Application-oriented Studies”. He is mainly active in the field of biomedical signal processing, with a main focus on surface electromyographic signal analysis during cyclical movements in healthy and pathological conditions. He is also active in the field of neuro-engineering and, particularly, in motor control strategy assessment through the analysis of the muscle synergies.

Bryan Schlink

Bryan Schlink

Battelle Memorial Institute

Dr. Bryan Schlink received his bachelor’s degree in biomedical engineering from Purdue University and his master’s degree in bioengineering from the University of Illinois at Chicago. He earned his doctorate in biomedical engineering from the University of Florida in 2020. His doctoral dissertation investigated the use of high-density EMG to measure spatial muscle activation patterns during walking and running. This included the development of alternative signal processing approaches for removing motion artifacts from dynamic high-density EMG recordings. Currently, Dr. Schlink is a neurotechnology researcher at the Battelle Memorial Institute in Columbus, OH. His research seeks to leverage high-density EMG recordings from the paretic arm in stroke survivors to develop more effective rehabilitation methods and improve functional recovery in the hand and forearm.