Kevin P. Granata Award

The Kevin P. Granata Award commemorates Professor Kevin P. Granata and recognizes outstanding early-career researchers who have contributed to advances in kinesiology and biomechanics. This award is funded by contributions from the Journal of Electromyography and Kinesiology (JEK).

Carlo J DeLuca portrait

About Kevin P. Granata

(December 29, 1961 – April 16, 2007)

Dr. Granata was an American professor in multiple departments including the Departments of Engineering, Science and Mechanics and Mechanical Engineering at Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University (Virginia Tech), in Blacksburg, Virginia. At Virginia Tech he established and co-directed the Musculoskeletal Biomechanics Laboratory. Dr. Granata was among the leading U.S. researchers on biomechanics and movement dynamics in cerebral palsy. His research focused on muscle and reflex control and its relation to legged robotics, neuromuscular control of musculoskeletal movement, biomechanical stability and muscle dynamics, control of low-back pain, and computer simulation and clinical interpretation of pathologic walking and running. Kevin Granata was a victim of the Virginia Tech shooting on April 16, 2007. During the shooting, he shepherded students into his office in order to safeguard them. He was then killed after he went to investigate and intervene.

Granata Award Nominations 2024

ISEK is pleased to invite nominations for the Kevin P. Granata Award. This honor recognizes outstanding researchers who have recently published significant advances in the fields of kinesiology or biomechanics, and have a demonstrated commitment to mentorship.

The award consists of a complimentary Congress registration, a $750 travel honorarium as well as recognition in the Congress program.


  • Outstanding researcher who has published a significant work in kinesiology or biomechanics within the 24 months prior to the next ISEK Congress.
  • Must be serving in the role of a junior faculty member at the level of Assistant Professor, Lecturer/Senior Lecturer or equivalent that includes the responsibilities of research, teaching, and mentoring.
  • Demonstrated exceptional outcomes as a mentor and/or teacher
  • Ideally a member of ISEK, but not essential.
  • This award can only be received once.


We encourage members to recognize the current diversity in our field when making nominations. To nominate an individual or self-nominate, please submit the following:

  • A published or submitted manuscript (pre-print access required) as a first or senior author. Manuscripts must have been published no earlier than 24 months prior to the next ISEK Congress.
  • CV of the nominee detailing their current position, contributions to research, teaching and mentoring

Nominations open September 15, 2023
Nominations close December 14, 2023

Nominations should be submitted via email to the Society at:

2024 Winner

Taylor Dick

Taylor Dick

University of Queensland, Australia

Dr Taylor Dick is a Senior Lecturer in the School of Biomedical Sciences at the University of Queensland in Brisbane, Australia where she leads the Neuromuscular Biomechanics Laboratory.

Taylor was awarded her PhD in 2016 from Simon Fraser University (Vancouver, Canada). Her PhD research, in partnership with the Concord Field Station at Harvard University, focused on developing an experimental and modelling framework to predict in vivo motor function using advanced image-driven musculoskeletal models. Following this, she conducted a Postdoctoral Fellowship in the Joint Department of Biomedical Engineering at North Carolina State University- The University of North Carolina (Chapel Hill) where her research focused on using wearable assistive devices (e.g., exoskeletons and prosthetics) to augment or restore movement—with a particular focus on how devices interact with the underlying physiology of their user.

She has developed a uniquely integrative and translational approach to studying neuromuscular function that combines experimental tools with computer modelling and simulation techniques to investigate movement patterns across diverse subjects, ranging from pathological populations to animals in the wild. Her work ultimately seeks to understand how movement underpins evolution, health, and disease.

Taylor is an active member of multiple professional societies, currently serving as an elected member of the Executive Council of the International Society of Biomechanics, a member of the ISEK Technical Committee, and Chairperson of the Comparative Neuromuscular Biomechanics Technical group. Her demonstrated track record of impactful research and commitment to mentorship and teaching have been recognized with the 2024 International Union of Physiological Sciences Junior Faculty Award and the 2021 International Society of Biomechanics Jaqueline Perry Emerging Scientist Award.

Taylor is also a passionate advocate for women in science / STEM. Her work in this area is broad, having co-led an Australian Federal Government Women in STEM and Entrepreneurship program, the Biomechanics Research and Innovation Challenge (BRInC).

Previous Winners