The 8th International Congress of ISEK and the 25th Anniversary of ISEK took place in Baltimore, Maryland, USA, August 12-16, 1990. Donald J. Hobart was secretary general for the four day Congress. Approximately 135 papers were given followed by the Congress Proceedings. The work that began in 1988 by De Luca and Solomonow on a journal for ISEK became a reality for ISEK members during the 8th Congress, 1990 when the membership was offered subscription opportunities. It was called the Journal of Electromyography and Kinesiology. The first editors of the Journal of Electromyography and Kinesiology were Carlo J. de Luca, Moshe Solomonow and Willemien Wallinga. The first publisher was Raven Press. Another history making event for ISEK was a pledge of $5,000.00 by J. Basmajian if the membership matched the pledge. The membership exceeded J. Basmajian’s challenge and put ISEK on a secure financial basis.